Applications for the 2027 Sundance Institute Merata Mita Fellowship for Indigenous Artists are scheduled to open October 13 and close November 3, 2026.
The free international opportunity is for Indigenous artists who identify as women and are working toward directing a feature film. Sundance says fellows receive cash grants and a year of support that includes mentorship, access to Institute artist-program services, and a trip to the Sundance Film Festival.
Featured photo: Elio Yañez, showing a cinematographer operating a professional digital cinema camera, via Wikimedia Commons, licensed under CC BY 2.0. The image is illustrative and is not connected to Sundance Institute or the fellowship.
Why it matters
The fellowship combines direct financial support with yearlong creative and professional guidance. It is open to eligible filmmakers outside the United States, making it one of the relatively few internationally accessible feature-development opportunities in Sundance's current Indigenous Program calendar.
Who can apply
Sundance describes the fellowship as open to U.S.-based and international Indigenous artists who identify as women and are endeavoring to direct a feature film. The Institute's Indigenous Program says its opportunities are limited to artists who identify as Indigenous.
Sundance does not charge an application fee for Indigenous Program opportunities. Its current program page does not state the number of 2027 fellows or a specific grant amount, so applicants should rely on the live application for any cycle-specific terms once the form opens.
What support includes
- A cash grant, with the 2027 amount not specified on the current public program page.
- A yearlong continuum of support.
- Mentorship opportunities.
- Access to strategic and creative services from Sundance Institute artist programs.
- A trip to the Sundance Film Festival.
What to do before October 13
Potential applicants can use the short lead time to assemble a clear feature-film overview, explain their connection to the material, and prepare concise information about their directing experience and current development stage. The live application will control if its required materials differ from prior cycles or add cycle-specific questions.
Review the official Indigenous Program page →
Primary sources
Update note
Published October 11, 2026, ahead of the announced October 13 opening. Spotlight News will update this story if the live application adds or changes cycle-specific requirements.